An Effective DWI Defense Attorney
A drunk driving arrest can be a costly, life-changing ordeal. Even if this is your first brush with the law, a drunk driving arrest and conviction will impact your life in many ways. The most important thing you can do is to hire an experienced DWI lawyer as soon as possible.
There have been many changes in Louisiana’s DWI laws since I first began my practice. I am well-versed and trained in all aspects of DWI law, from field sobriety tests to breath, urine and blood testing methods. These tools are not foolproof and are often prone to error and substantial integrity issues.
The outcome of your case is often time-sensitive, so act fast to protect your rights. Fines and penalties are significant and mandatory. Your personal liberty and ability to drive and support yourself and your family are at stake.
Can I Refuse To Take A Roadside Breathalyzer Test Or Field Sobriety Tests?
Drivers can refuse to take field sobriety tests with no legal consequences. However, there could be consequences for refusing to take a breathalyzer. When you get a driver’s license in Louisiana, you are simultaneously consenting to blood alcohol testing should you get pulled over for suspected drunk driving. If you refuse to comply with testing, you could lose your license. Refusing testing garners increasingly severe penalties each time a driver does it.
What Are The Penalties For Drunk Driving In Louisiana?
A first-time DWI has penalties that include the following:
- Up to a $1,000 fine
- Up to 6 months in prison
- Community service
DWI penalties grow more severe upon each repeat offense.
What Are Some Potential DWI Defenses?
Getting a drunk driving charge doesn’t necessarily mean you’ll be convicted. Potential defenses include:
- Invalid blood alcohol testing
- Inaccurate field sobriety test results
- Arguing that the traffic stop was unlawful
- A lack of evidence that the person accused was driving or in physical control of the car
There could be more legal strategies available that could help you avoid conviction. Contact a Shreveport DWI defense attorney to learn more.
When Is Driving Drunk A Felony?
Generally, first and second DWI offenses are classified as misdemeanors. Third, fourth DWIs and beyond are classified as felonies in Louisiana. First and second offenses can also garner enhanced penalties if there was a minor in the card, your BAC is over a certain limit, or the offense inflicted bodily harm or death.
Act Quickly To Fight Your License Suspension
You might have been provided a temporary permit to drive (usually for 30 days) upon arrest. Your driving privileges will be suspended 30 days from the date of arrest, even if you still possess a hard copy or duplicate of your license. This is automatic. You have the right to an administrative hearing to contest this suspension, but you must request this hearing within 30 days from the date of arrest. If you fail to do so, your license will be suspended for a minimum of three months, and it is very expensive, and sometimes impossible, to get a hardship license to drive during the suspension period. It is critical to contact me as soon as possible.
Building A Solid DWI Defense
Your case may seem impossible, and your guilt may be presumed, but I will fully investigate every aspect of your case, for every possible defense. Often, evidence of intoxication can be thrown out if the police did not follow proper procedure regarding the stop, investigation or administration of intoxication tests. You will want your attorney to know the full extent of DWI law.